Prof.A.Bruzzone, SCSC2005 General Chair, open the Ceremony for Best Paper Awards during Summersim2005 Luncheon

SCSC2005 Best Paper Award

Philadelphia, 24-28 July 2005

Prof.A.Bruzzone, SCSC2005 General Chair, and Prof.M.Marchese, SPECTS Program Chair during the Presention of Best Paper Awards in SummerSim2005

SCSC2005 Best Paper was established for first time in Montreal Edition and it represented one of the results obtained by emphasising quality; that fact is currently allowing the Conference Chair to nominate best papers for being considered by SCS International publications and during 2005 a special issue, composed by two volumes, inspired by SCSC2003 best papers was published in Simulation Transaction of SCS International.
Also this year each single paper in the proceedings, and even the Student Workshop Papers, get at multiple reviews from SCSC International Program Committee (IPC) and a Program/General Chair overview. Based on this process and on IPC/Track Chair Nomination it was possible to create a short list of very high quality papers.
Prof.M.Marchese, SPECTS Program Chair, Awarding SPECTS Best Paper
The quality of papers was very good and the selection was pretty hard, however a Best Paper Award Committee was able to identify a short list of three best papers; the final ranking list is following:
    Best Paper
    • Constraint Satisfaction in the Automobile Industry: A Coloured Petri Net Simulation Model Approach

    • Miquel Angel Piera, Toni GuaschUAB/UPC, Spain, Spain
    First Runner Up
    • A Simple Voice Communication System for Human-in-the Loop Air Traffic Control Simulation

    • Florian Hafner, Mohamed MahmoudEmbry-Riddle Aeronautical University, USA
    Second Runner Up
    • Artisanal and Small-Scale Gold Mining in Alga (Burkina Faso): Building a Decision-Aid Model for Development and Governance

    • Fenintsoa Andriamasinor, Eric Jaques, Remy Pelon, Bruno Martel-Jantin, BRGM, France

The SCSC2005 Best Paper Award Certificate was delivered to the authors by Agostino Bruzzone, SCSC General Chair, during SCSC2005 Luncheon.

SCSC2005 Best Paper Committee

A.Bruzzone, General Chair of SCSC2005, awarding the Second Runner Up in Best Paper Competition
Agostino Bruzzone, General Chair of SCSC2005, awarding the First Runner UP Award of Best Paper Competition
  • Edward Williams, PM Corp,USA - SCSC Program Chair

  • Members:
  • Vince Amico, UCF, USA - SCS Hall of Fame
  • Agostino G.Bruzzone, MISS DIP, Italy - SCSC General Chair
  • Priscilla Elfrey, NCS & NASA Kennedy Space Center, USA - Simulation in Business and Industry Track Chair
  • Ralph Huntsinger, California State University Chico - M&S Methodology, Tools and Applications Track Chair
  • Marina Massei, Liophant, Italy - SIMPLEST Workshop Chair
  • Tuncer Íren, MISS Ottawa Center, ON Canada - Agent Driven Simulation Track Chair
  • Stefano Saetta, MISS Perugia University - Lean Simulation Workshop Chair
  • Gabriel Wainer, Carleton University - Student Workshop Chair for SCSC2005

Best Paper in the SCSC2005 Best Paper Selection to Miquel Angel Piera and Antony Guasch from MISS Spain in Barcelona
Back to SCSC Home Page